Gettin to grips with the new style!

jimh_123
jimh_123 Posts: 66
edited June 2008 in MTB beginners
I've been mountain biking on and off for over ten years now. My trusty, fullly rigid steed has been with me all those years but alas it's had its day.

So recently I just bought a 2008 Hardrock Comp with disc brakes and I have to say I just love it! I cant believe how much faster it is compared to my last bike, (Trek 950). Even up hills I find myself going far faster!

Only queery I have is, this is my first time with suspension and have noticed that when I pull up hard on the bars to lift the wheel up or manual it doesn't come up as high and I get a delayed hit coming from the fork.( if that makes sense). It feels like the piston is hitting the top inside the fork. Is this normal with suspension forks!
It's really effecting what logs I can clear, drop offs and jumps that I hit.

Any ideas?

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    i think it is a product of the fork being pretty cheap, this is no bad thing on its own and you have a decent bike, but a more expensive fork would have better damping and would reduce the "fork bottom out"
  • jimh_123
    Yeah I knew the fork wasn't the best, but just dont like that hard bang when I pull up on the bars. Can you get harder springs or thicker oil? Would that make any difference?

I've only had it a couple of weeks, so still gettin to grips with it, ie. suspension, I think the problems lessens the faster I ride. (suppose the answer would be just ride fast all the time!!!) Does that sound right? Or am I just imagening that?
  • snook
    snook Posts: 64
    Are you talking about "top-out"? where the fork clunks as you pull it up.

What fork is it by the way? The thing that prevents this is a little elastomer spring, sadly bottom-end forks don't usually have them (sucks cos they're really cheap and tiny and could be fitted with hardly any extra work and make a big performance difference).