Help... I'm confused...

lamchop
lamchop Posts: 36
edited June 2008 in Commuting chat
Please help. I have decided to join the "Ride2Work" scheme, as it will save me loads on petrol money. However, I'm a complete noob and cannot decide on what bike to get.

I'll be using the bike mainly to commute to and from work, which is approximately 18 miles each way. The route I'll have to take is quite hilly as I'll have to take back roads (dont think I can cycle on the A406!), and bear in mind the condition of the roads aren't great in a lot of places. I will rarely be riding in the city.

I'm a 27 year old male, about 5'5", and I'd say I was pretty fit having run a marathon in a decent time, plus I do lots of other sports. I'm really looking forward to getting a bike, not only will I be saving money, but I'll be keeping my fitness up with a long commute.

I'm pretty sure that a mountain bike is out of the question, as from what I've read it'll be too much hard work and too slow. Oh, I forgot to mention that I'm extremely lazy in the technical sense and do not want to keep changing tyres around.

My budget is upto about £450, which leaves me to decide between a hybrid and an entry level road bike. My problem is there are so many different hybrids, and few entry level road bikes (I can only choose bikes from Evans). The hybrid I have fallen for is the Scott Speedster P45 08, as it looks good and I've been told it is good on the road especially if i lock out the suspension, and it's not too bad if I decide to go on a gravel path. http://scottusa.com/gb_en/product/195/694/sportster_p45

Or are there other hybrids that would suit my commute better?

The entry level road bike I was looking at was the Trek double 1.2. http://www.trekbikes.com/uk/en/bikes/20 ... eries/12e/