Which (entry level) road bike

trickydisco
trickydisco Posts: 173
edited June 2008 in Road beginners
brief introduction.

I had my old rigid mountain bike stolen a few weeks ago that i used for commuting to work. I've been after a replacement ever since.

I've now ditched the idea of a hybrid (I thought i wouldn't like drop bars) and now want a road bike (which you can attach panniers/mudguards to)

A friend lent me his 20 year old peugeot road bike (56cm) this week and i've had a grin on my face ever since. I took to it straight away. I've been riding mountain bikes for around 5 years now and i didn't realise how fast these things go.

My commute to work is now very very fast (also seem to be getting out of the saddle more, something i never do on a mtb bike - this is probably because this bike has a double chain ring and only 6 gears at the rear). I love how this thing is so old but just rolls and picks up speed very easily.

Now, my choice of road bikes. I've narrowed it down to:

Ribble (seen a few good one's on ebay)

trek 1000

Giant SCR 3

Orbea fleche

Edinburgh cycles Revolution contential

I've got a max of around £400 to spend (some of the above listed would be either 2nd hand e.g. ribble or brand new e.g. continental)

I've found the road sizing a different ball game. I normally take anything from a 17" - 19" mountain bike frame (depending on geometry) This old peugeot road bike fits me fine but after emailing edinburgh cycles they say i'd suit a 52cm frame? (i'm 5'9" with inseam of 33")

So, what do you think i should get? To be honest I did have my heart set on the continental as i heard these were good value for money, but after looking at 2nd hand prices of the ribble and the price of the orbea i'm torn.

(i keep meaning to pop into my local LBS this week and try out various models for sizing)