What bike to buy?

oj108
oj108 Posts: 4
edited June 2008 in MTB beginners
Hello all,

Please could some kind people in the know offer me some much needed advice?

I'm new to MTB. I am looking to buy a mid range bike for the occassional trail ride and the daily commute.

I have between £300 - £500 pounds to spend. Which I know is not that much.

Some recommended Giants - Rainer, Terrago or XtC 4.5. Are there better options in this price range?

Any adive would be most appreciated!!

Comments

• Jimmy Mc
    Jimmy Mc Posts: 35
    Have a butchers in the buying advice forum as your first stop.

However, July's MBR mag has a review of £500 hard tails. The Kona Blast wins that but also look at the Specialized Rockhopper or GT Avalanche 1.0.

Slightly cheaper - my mate has a Specialized Hard Rock Comp and that seems pretty good. I think he got that for around £300.

Oh and your budget's perfect for getting started. As countless people here will tell you - it's all about enjoying it firstly. Once the bug has bitten you properly you can upgrade or buy new bikes as much as your finances allow! I got my first bike (orange G2) 3 months a go and am having a whale of a time.
  • oj108
    Cheers Jimmy. Much appreciated. I will have to have a look at the July issue.
  • Bikerbaboon
    Bikerbaboon Posts: 1,017
    have a look at this months its got a £300 review as well
    Nothing in life can not be improved with either monkeys, pirates or ninjas
  • bluechair84
    bluechair84 Posts: 4,352