spd pedals and shoes

moggy12
moggy12 Posts: 109
edited June 2008 in Road beginners
hi i have a trek 7.5fx hybrid /road bike came with standard pedals looking to get a pair of spd pedals i'm new to the sport what are cleats ? do i need to buy a special pair of spd shoes,trainers ? or can i use my normal trainers to work with spd pedals ? what spd pedals do you recommened ? thanks for any replies

Comments

• tonyp71
    tonyp71 Posts: 52
    hi there,
    Basically there are two types of clip in pedals - SPD (mainly used on mountain bikes and ones like your trek) and SPD-SL (these are used on road bikes).
    Both types of pedal require special shoes with 'cleats' on the bottom which attach to the pedal and stay put until you twist your foot out of the pedal (gets easier with practice!).
    The shoes for SPD pedals have a slightly recessed cleat in the sole which enables you to walk easily when off the bike but the SPD-SL shoes have a cleat which stands 'proud' of the sole making walking a bit more tricky (but not impossible).
    For your particular bike I would reccomend some SPD pedals and shoes which you can usually find starting at about £30 for shoes and about the same for the pedals. Have a browse online to see if any available in the sales etc.
    Hope this helps
  • Denny69
    Denny69 Posts: 206
    Hi Moggy..you asked about using your trainers as well with SPD pedals....as a rule you can't but there are certain models of SPD pedal that give you the best of both worlds, they have a normal pedal on one side and the SPD pedal on the flip side....a bit of a compromise.

Also some SPD pedals come with plastic attachments that convert them into a normal pedal so you can wear trainers and the like instead of wearing SPD shoes all the time, they simply click in like a cleat would.
    Heaven kicked me out and Hell was too afraid I'd take over!!!

Fighting back since 1975!!

Happy riding

Denny
  • moggy12