Devil Ride - gearing recommendation please

Scott08
Scott08 Posts: 21
OK, so this may be an obvious question to you cyclosportive regulars, but I am new to this cyclosportive game and the Devil Ride will be my hardest/longest event of the year...

I need to replace my chainset/rear mech soon and am thinking about going compact. Never felt the need for one for road racing but my races don't go for 100 miles over this kind of terrain. The website hints that this will be a toughie, even though the organisers say it has some recovery sections in it - I like their attitude BTW - so should I take the plunge into the compact world or will a traditional 39/25 combo do the trick for your average Joe :?:

I guess this could have been posted in a techie forum but I want the views of you cyclosportivists :P

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Scott08 wrote:
    OK, so this may be an obvious question to you cyclosportive regulars, but I am new to this cyclosportive game and the Devil Ride will be my hardest/longest event of the year...

I need to replace my chainset/rear mech soon and am thinking about going compact. Never felt the need for one for road racing but my races don't go for 100 miles over this kind of terrain. The website hints that this will be a toughie, even though the organisers say it has some recovery sections in it - I like their attitude BTW - so should I take the plunge into the compact world or will a traditional 39/25 combo do the trick for your average Joe :?:

I guess this could have been posted in a techie forum but I want the views of you cyclosportivists :P