How Do I get Started - Cat 4 Racing?

tweenster
tweenster Posts: 592
edited June 2008 in Pro race
I'm 44 and would like to have a go at a bike race or 2. I've been doing triathlon for 6 years so am used to time trial style efforts, not bunch riding. I did a sportive recently and it gave me a taste of bunch cycling and I really enjoyed it, and would like to do some more. I assume the starting point is joining a bike club but what else do I need to think about?

And yes, I have a road bike without tribars!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ich bin ein IRONMAN!

Comments

• guv001
    guv001 Posts: 688
    Speed you need lots of it...
  • brownbosh
    brownbosh Posts: 602
    did my first last week - what an education!! Im no expert TT rider but steady enough. The issue with group racing is the changes in speed. Practice many many intense efforts on all terrain when out riding, Going hard and slowing etc is the way to survive, now if only i can nail that myself ill be ok!
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Join a club and even better if they have a regular chain gang - the only way to learn to ride fast in a group is to do it regularly. The best value racing is LVRC racing as you're over 40. If you ride LVRC, perhaps start in an older category e.g. over 50s - the event organiser would be able to advise. You'll probably find your first race a bit of a shock and realistically your aim will be to finish. Stay near the front of the bunch, conserve your energies as the only thing that matters is getting to the last lap and crossing the line.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • SteveR_100Milers
    SteveR_100Milers Posts: 5,987