newbie question

kev2b3
kev2b3 Posts: 159
edited June 2008 in Commuting chat
I have decided to have a go at commuting to and from work.I fancy getting a mtb, due to being 289 lbs in weight i feel a mtb would be stronger than a racing/commuting bike. I have been offered a claud butler olimpus xt for £200.00, the bike is a 2005 model but its like brand new.Just wondering what you more experienced commuters think.

Comments

• JoeSoap76
    JoeSoap76 Posts: 109
    kev2b3 wrote:
    due to being 289 lbs in weight i feel a mtb would be stronger than a racing/commuting bike.
    I was in the 280s when I started commuting a few months ago on a hybrid (Ironhorse Transit 3.0 2007). Can't say I have had any weight-related issues... other than maybe feeling the need to check the tyre pressure a little more frequently.

I'm not sure about a racing bike (just because I've no experience), but I wouldn't let 289lbs be the driving factor in a choice between a mtb or hybrid.

Besides, if you're like me (getting on a bike was a massive increase in my daily exercise) you won't be 289lbs for long :D

[Afraid that I don't know about the bike you've been offered. Am fairly new to this myself.]
  • thamacdaddy
    thamacdaddy Posts: 590
    Totally agree cycle commuting everyday managed to shift 5 stone in a year for me. I have just bought a racing bike (and I am still around the 200lbs mark I estimate - no scales I only weigh myself periodically) and I can't honestly tell you the massive difference it makes.

Now there is an advantage to getting a MTB that being that you will have to push harder to get a racing bike kinda speed (still won't really manage it) and you do feel less exposed in a weird way due to the lack of stiffness and the more upright position.

If you go the MTB route trust me after hauling that about for 6 months you will want a road specific bike no doubt whether that be a fixed, hybrid or racing.