insurence on tour, £102!

ThatGuyOnABike
ThatGuyOnABike Posts: 198
edited June 2008 in Tour & expedition
I'm going to Europe for ten days and had a look at ctc's travel insurance. £102 was the quote they gave me. my bike (now after i owned it for long time) is worth less then that! i was expecting £15-30! i payed £20 for the ferry (very good deal to dunkerque).
erm... this is my first time touring so hey, what do i know, but still what should i do about insurance. i have an e11 card that covers me healthwise -i think but i was interested in doing something so i could have some peace of mind should my gear get stolen.
any advice???
In the valley of high oil prices the cyclist is king!

Comments

• bob1965
    bob1965 Posts: 27
    Try what I did I changed my house insurance to one that coved our bikes in EU, so ctc was £85 a year and new house insurance was £120 both with bike cover.. Bob
  • dave7348
    dave7348 Posts: 13
    Depends if you are talking about insuring the bike against theft and/or damage (I don't bother, just don't leave it unlocked - 40 +yrs and I've only had one bike pinched - add up the cost of all those premiums and compare the difference) or illness/accident insurance.
    The later is vital. An E111 will go some way to help, but will still leave you very short should you need serious help (many £000's !).

Shop around for health insurance, but make sure they don't exclude cycling (some class it as hazardous!)

Have a great tour.
  • lloyd_bower
    lloyd_bower Posts: 664
    dave7348 wrote:
    Depends if you are talking about insuring the bike against theft and/or damage (I don't bother, just don't leave it unlocked - 40 +yrs and I've only had one bike pinched - add up the cost of all those premiums and compare the difference) or illness/accident insurance.
    The later is vital. An E111 will go some way to help, but will still leave you very short should you need serious help (many £000's !).