Bike for lady beginner

EwanMonaghan
EwanMonaghan Posts: 4
Hello, my wife is looking to learn to cycle and is probably going to try and start to commute in and out to work as I do. Its only going to be road riding, around the city (kerbs, potholes etc) and a few towpaths. She is keen to get a specifically designed womens frame but I'm having trouble finding reviews of them and working out what the best one might be. Anyone got any recommendations on a decent entry level womens bike for a total beginner? Ideally I want to spend £600 max, but less would be great if its possible. Cheers.

Comments

• cycledad2
    cycledad2 Posts: 50
    Hi,

£600 smackaroons is about perfect to buy a really nice purpose built for life , good second hand resale value, commuter\city bike.

A few questions:
    -Is your area flat? Do you want a bike that can handle hills?
    -How far is her commute and is it stop starty?
    -Do you\her intend to do other rides aside from the commute?
    -Is your wife going to prefer a bike with a gentle graceful ride or is she the athletic sprinter\marathon runner\gym bunny type?

My gut feel is that as your wife is brand new to cycling simplicity is key. I'm hoping you'll say flat\<5 miles\ not too stop starty\ gentle graceful ride. If so , then i'd heartily recommend a european style city bike (as endorsed by my wife , myslef, nearly every womens fashion mag and most of mainland Europe). If so i can point you to several sites and some good local bike shops in the UK.

If shes more the athletic gym bunny type and your going to do hills etc i can point you to a few women friendly web sites, which should help you in the right direction.

PS Any kids to move around on the bike?