P*nct*re help. I'm losing my mind!

CyclingBantam
CyclingBantam Posts: 1,299
edited May 2008 in Road beginners
I have committed the cardinal sin and bought a bike from Hellfrauds. Please allow me just another 10 seconds of your time in a desperate attempt to convince you (Me?!) was not as foolish as it seems and does not warrant being banished to a forum for under 9's (I am aware of the potential issues surrounding an adult male posting on such a forum, I was being hypothe...anyway.)

My Defence:

I have been cycling for 9 months now and enjoy my regular 12.5 mile (e/w) commute. I enjoy perusing on here and am regularly leafing through one of the many Cycling publications out there. I would consider myself to have left the "Absolute beginner section and have a place firmly in the "Beginner" section of the Cycling hierarchy. Following encouraging my partner to get a bike over the last few months she finally agreed to give it a go, although not having cycled for years was not keen on spending a notable amount of cash on a new steed. My suggestion was, "How about we get you a nice shiny new bike from Halfords for £100 to see how you like it then we can upgrade if you decide it is enjoyable and you will use the bike?"

Never again will I buy a bike from them. Getting a test ride was like I had just asked if they would take a couple of locked cool boxes over the border into Italy. The test ride in the car park surrounded by cars reversing/parking etc was short due to my girlfriend having not ridden for years and the space availably due to said cars minimal. Upon getting the bike home it transpires the gears were not aligned, the wheel rubs on one of the brakes and the other wheel is not quite true. Take it back then I hear you say. Well I believe there is no point. I don't want them messing with it further as they clearly can't set it up right in the 1st place so them getting it right a second time is unlikely. I would rather sort it myself.