New Bike EZ shift gears don't work!

dannnyboy
dannnyboy Posts: 5
edited June 2008 in MTB beginners
I hope nobody minds too much a complete newbie posting his problems!!

I have bought a new Giant Boulder as a get to work/intro to mountain biking.

It seems good; apart from the fact that the rear gear will only move on the 2 smallest cogs. The screw adjusters do not seem to be the problem, I can see the one screw touching where it is supposed to when the smallest cog is selected, but the other screw is nowhere near it's limit, in fact I have undone that screw all the way and tigtened it completely and it makes no difference.

when I push the lever to move the gears the deraillier moves and then springs back, of course the display on the shifter goes right through the gears as it should.

The gears are shimano EZ shift (24 gears)

I am sorry I may not have explained that very well, but I wonder if anyone could help me.

Comments

• brett1980
    brett1980 Posts: 62
    try adjusting the barell adjusters on thec shifter or mech. I would also reset the cable as it sounds too slack. make all ajustments when on the smallest sprocket.
    "Any hole is a goal.....but a good hole is a bonus!!"
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    new bike not set up correctly, guess it was mail order?

If not take it back and get them to sort it. It should be supplied in a working form.

info for setting up gears on parktools.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • dannnyboy
    Yeah I bought in mail order....I would advise everybody against that course of action.

The instructions and the online instructions from that Parktools site are the same....they assume a level of knowledge, that if I had it I would not need them...next to useless.