First clipless pedal experience

CrookedCucumber
CrookedCucumber Posts: 324
edited May 2008 in Road beginners
Well, after reading you lot enthusing about them for the last month, I thought I might as well give clipless a chance. After all, my credit card wasn't quite up to the limit this month :/ So I invested in a set of bottom-of-the-range SPD pedals+Specialized shoes. They are mountain biking models, in fact, but I really do need to be able to walk in whatever footwear I cycle in. And if I don't get on with them, I can always flog them on eBay :)

Given that I've been using toe-straps for thirty years, I was pleasantly surprised by how easy the clipless pedals are to use. One thing I did notice, and was a bit taken aback by, was how easily the cleats engage when you don't want them to. I unclipped coming up to a junction, and rested my unclipped foot lightly on top of the pedal, and... well I imagine you can guess what happened: I went to put my foot down, and found it had re-engaged. Oh well, can't win 'em all.

Anyway... getting to the point: I installed the cleats so that they appear to lie straight along the axis of the shoe. Both feet the same. But I noticed that one of my knees tends to knock the top tube if I don't make an effort to keep it out of the way. At the end of a relatively short ride that knee was a bit painful. I have a feeling that when I use top clips, I automatically point my feet just slightly outwards, and that avoids this problem.

So I'm wondering if I should just adjust my cleats so my feet point outwards a bit, or whether there is some other solution, or whether I need to train myself in some way to pedal differently.

Comments welcome :)

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    Play with the cleat position until you find you are comfortable. There's no way you have to have them - give it a play.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • dennisn
    dennisn Posts: 10,601