Budget Bikes

Dunch1979
Dunch1979 Posts: 6
edited May 2008 in Road beginners
I am new to road cycling, and coming from a mountian bike background I am surprised by the cost of road bikes. is it possible to get something that is half decent for around the £200 mark?

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    Decathlon did one for £169 last year, think they might have similiar ones this year for £199, when they finally get them.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • roger_merriman
    roger_merriman Posts: 6,165
    other options are 2nd hand bikes, road bikes (racers) should be cheaper, that MTB's in that they don't have suspention, disk brakes etc, this said a with a lot of cheap MTB's they are not expected to be taken seriously off road, and doing so is likely to break/jam parts. while a cheap road bike should cope, though it may well not be the best TT machine.
  • Van_Heerden
    Van_Heerden Posts: 128
    Decathlon are doing a budget road bike with downtube shifters this year for £149! Like Roger said it will get you arounbd but don't expect TT speed. My experience of Decathlon bikes has been good and they seem to be solid. I'm considering one to commute on.
    "The grass is always greener on the other side - unless Jens Voigt has been riding on the other side in which case it's white with the salty, dried tears of all the riders whose souls he has crushed."
  • rossgalway
    rossgalway Posts: 43
    If you come from mtb you will know that you can't get a decent bike for less than £400. Look at the giant scr / specialized allez range. :D
  • Van_Heerden
    Van_Heerden Posts: 128
    I have posted some info on another thread re the SCR 4.0 where someone was asking about bikes for £350.
    "The grass is always greener on the other side - unless Jens Voigt has been riding on the other side in which case it's white with the salty, dried tears of all the riders whose souls he has crushed."
  • Mog Uk
    Mog Uk Posts: 964