Out of the saddle - help

madturkey
madturkey Posts: 58
edited May 2008 in Road beginners
Apologies if this sounds like a daft question, but here goes...

I'm very new to cycling, in fact only got on a bike for the first time ever last August (at the age of 33). :oops:

I'm putting in training laps of Richmond Park to get some decent miles under my belt and finding it okay, apart from being pretty much useless at getting out of the saddle. If I try it I either end up spinning so fast (no doubt helped by lots of excess body mass) I collapse in a heap, or just swaying all over the road so sit down before I come a cropper.

I can get out of the saddle fine on a spinning bike so I don't think it's down to fitness.

Any tips on simple techniques to make going out of the saddle easier? It may be just a case of building up experience/confidence but I'm eager to hear other views!

Comments

• Change up a gear as you come out of the saddle - that is meant to be good technique for hill climbing......
  • madturkey
    Unfortunately I've tried that one... All that happens after changing up a gear or two is that I spin a couple of times then stop!
  • I think people around here have got too few worries in their lives ;) You wobble a bit when you get out of the saddle? Oh, my. :/
  • RichardFcp
    RichardFcp Posts: 155
    I think people around here have got too few worries in their lives ;) You wobble a bit when you get out of the saddle? Oh, my. :/

Bit uncalled for imho. This is road beginners after all and the OP only started cycling last August.
    mad,

Reckon you just need to practice.

If you are 'spinning out' then you need to select a higher gear. If you are grinding to a halt you need to select a lower gear.

Start by practicing on the flat. Can you get out of the saddle ok on the flat? Change up a gear (or two) and get out of the saddle for a minute ir so.

Then try on a moderate hill. Like the drag from Roehampton Gate to Richmond Gate.