Possible to build a good bike with less than £400?

indysmith
indysmith Posts: 276
edited May 2008 in MTB beginners
I can get a good deal on a frame (£280 for a very unique specialized fsrxc frame), and I was wandering how much it would cost for me to build a bike up around it?
Firstly - I'm very new to biking - what will i need?
Obviously I'd like reasonable quality gear, but the frame is £280 and I only have £400 to spend. Is it possible?
Thanks. :oops:

Comments

• omegas
    omegas Posts: 970
    edited May 2008
    The standard forks for that frame are Rock Shox Reba SLthat retail around £200

The problem with building a bike is the parts added up can end up costing double the cost of buying the bike off the shelf.
  • toasty
    toasty Posts: 2,598
    Not really, a decent fork will be another £100 second hand (£150-£200 new), wheelset will set you back another £80-£100, gearing will be easily another £100 or so for derailleurs + cassette + chainset + cables + shifters. Then you'll need brakes, decent hydraulics are £100ish, even second hand they barely lose value as it's one bit lots of people upgrade.

I'd wait for another like my old one to come up or alternately find a hardtail of some sort, buying second hand can be risky.*

* Except for mine, that was genuinely fantastic quality, hehe :P
  • batch78
    batch78 Posts: 1,320
    Take a look on Merlin and see what package deals they're doing at the moment.
  • deafasapost
    deafasapost Posts: 27
    i'm with batch on this one, merlin are doing a corker for the cash, 08 malt 1, deore, mavic rims, hydro brakes etc, a lot of bike for the cash. :)
  • Torres
    Torres Posts: 1,266