Climbing

AndyChud
AndyChud Posts: 39
edited May 2008 in Road beginners
I am relatively new to road cycling, about 9 months, and I was just wondering when it is best to stand up to climb out-of-saddle. What sort of length/gradient climbs require the out-of-saddle approach?

Your advice is appreciated,
Thanks, Andy

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    What ever you are comfortable with
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • dennisn
    dennisn Posts: 10,601
    All depends on your fittness and ability level. On short hills you may be able to stand
    and pedal from bottom to top. Once the hills start getting bigger than just bumps in the
    road you will discover that you can't really ride out of the saddle for any great length of time. Your back will tell you when it's time to sit down and it won't take that long. I'm
    sure someone will log on and tell us how he/she can ride from sea level to the top of
    Everest without a saddle but lets be reasonable. Big mountain climbing(Alps) is mostly
    done in the saddle with the exception of people trying to gap off the front, catch someone, or trying to get up a steeper section of road. Standing all the way, well, you'll
    find out about that really quickly.

Dennis Noward
  • guinea
    guinea Posts: 1,177
    You just have to go with what's comfortable. I need both styles.

Recently on Alpe d'Huez and Ventoux I started off out of the saddle to get warmed up and sat down when I tightened up. After a while it hurts sitting down so I stand up on the pedals again. I then swapped between both until the summit. The only exception was the very steep parts where I simply had to stand.

To be honest, when you switch styles it feels like a rest for a few minutes.