How many times a week......

tbeat
tbeat Posts: 119
edited May 2008 in MTB beginners
hi all,
just asking the question how many times a week do you get a chance to go biking? at the moment i get out one evening during the week and a saturday. as a beginner i dont think i could do much more, however maybe i should push myself to a 3rd outing a week? :wink:

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Do what feels best! Just don't overdo it to start with, and remember rest is as important as the actual exercise.
  • MountainPete
    MountainPete Posts: 418
    I was just once a week, and running 3 times. I've got really bored of running so swapping it for cycling - I'm now up to 4 times a week :)
  • tbeat
    tbeat Posts: 119
    i am beginning to break into the 2 hour + while on the mountain bike. the place where i go is a real mix of hills, so iam finding my legs are tired a few days after, but as your say, the correct recovery process is also important i suppose
  • danhx
    danhx Posts: 165
    Since its got lighter in the evenings 5times a week. 8-15mile road/path runs after work 3 days a week and then 15mile or so offroad runs at the weekend.

Still building up my fitness, hills still kill me and I have to vary the routes to miss the nasty climbs some days.

2 days resting, normally Monday and Thursday.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Well, currently, I'm commuting to work, which is 8 miles each way, 5 days a week as my car is in the garage having (yet) more work done on it (again :roll: ).
    then I go to at least one trail centre on the weekend, sometimes two (coed y brenin, and llandegla usually) and sometimes just head out into the mountains or quarries.
    so at the moment, I guess I'm riding a hell of a lot!

bloody hell, reading that back, it sounds like a hell of a lot, considering I was smoking again until about two months ago!
  • Rich Hcp
    Rich Hcp Posts: 1,355