Going from a single speed to my first geared bike...help...

Hazio123
Hazio123 Posts: 9
edited May 2008 in Road beginners
Hi everybody, first post on the forum and hopefully not my last.

I'm still very new to cycling (7ish months) but I've caught the bug! I'm currently riding a single speed Specialized Langster and i love it to bits. I do a 16 mile daily commute and in London I don't need any gears. However, I've just started doing a few longer rides at the weekend (40-50miles) and whilst I still love it, I've come across a few hills that have beaten me.

Anyway, I think its time to invest in another bike (geared) as I'm seriously considering LEJOG next summer.

I did find I really enjoyed the Specialized Roubaix Elite and all was looking good until my employed decided to ditch the ride to work scheme 2 days before I was about to buy the bike. At £2000 i think it's just a little too much to spend/justify on my first geared bike. Now I've been looking around for a couple of weeks and am starting to get to know whats out there, but some advice from you guys, the people that know best, would be great.

I've had a ride on the Allez which seemed ok, but not as nice as the Roubaix. Doh!

What about the Focus cayo? Good components, crap frame?

Again, planet X? Trek?

So many option I'm rather lost!

I wouldn't be opposed to last years stuff or used bikes either. Good places to find them?

Like i mention earlier some advice of where to buy, what to check out, used/new, carbon vs alu would be great!

Look forward to hearing from you all!

Comments

• Hazio123
    Sorry, I should add that I want to spend up to £1000.
  • gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    you could get the roubaix elite for £1099 now - with 10% back in accessories from some stores (the concept store for one, but I felt this was a corporate cashback offer so perhaps other stores will offer it too)

not quite the same spec as the elite, but still 105 gears and you can upgrade the wheels and stuff later.