Muc-Off

ValeTudoGuy
ValeTudoGuy Posts: 87
edited May 2008 in MTB beginners
Since I just got a new expensive bike, I'm thinking of treating myself to a full set of the Muc-Off product line to clean and lube my new investment.

Can anyone vouch for the quality of Muc-Off products? I have never used them before as I always thought them a bit expensive.

I have done a couple searches and I came across some posts saying that Muc-Off is overly aggressive to the paintwork etc. Has anyone got experience of this and can give any examples?

Also what’s everyone’s bike cleaning routine from start to finish?

Thanks in advance

Marc

Comments

• Sir HC
    Sir HC Posts: 20,148
    The brushes are really good. Never seen the point of bike specific washes, use washing up liquid.

As for cleaning:
    -Hose down the bike, shifting as much of the crap as possible.
    -Clean the cleaner bits first, followed by the drivetrain then the tyres and wheels. Don't wipe dirty clothes on the discs, as you will contaminate them.
    -Dry the bike, make sure there is no water sat anywhere.
    -Lubricate the chain, I use finish line wet lube.

If you keep the bike clean, its easier to keep on top of.
    Intense Socom
    Inbred
  • gk141054
    gk141054 Posts: 175
    I was looking on the Halfords website today and noticed Muc-Off was on offer which made it cheaper than the Halfords own brand stuff.

Just checked.... its 3 for 2 on Muc Off or GT85...

Can't comment on how good it is as never used it.
  • FAT_ROB
    FAT_ROB Posts: 116
    I have used it, and it does exactly what it says on the tim. Havent noticed it being overly agressive on the paintwork and as previosuly mentioned the brushes are great.

I use a cheaper degreaser for the chain, to use in the chain cleaner (muc off it to expensive to slosh around in that) but then give it a quick scrub with muc off to sort out any stubbern bits.