The New Guy!

1981miked
1981miked Posts: 259
edited May 2008 in Road beginners
Wicked , i have just joined my first forum! How cool is that. Im new to road cycling but have ridden and raced MTB's for years, still have and use my trusty old Kona NuNu. Fancied a change and the road bike makes sense as i think it motivates me more to get out and ride. Got my 2007 Giant SCR 2.0 :D 2 weeks ago after much research and consideration. I didn't want to spend a fortune on my 1st road bike, got a great price on it. Got it from RUTLAND Cycling.....very impressed with the level of customer service. Due to a back injury tonight was the first proper ride, did 15 miles (not a lot i know) and i loved every minute of it, so easy to keep the pedals spinning and momentum going. However i did get a dull ache in the top of my leg/hip (jeez im only 26), im guessing maybe due to lack of use of that muscle??? Or maybe i need to sort the riding position?? That aside i loved it and i can see me and my Giant having many happy miles. Ordered my Cycle computer today, ordering my clipless pedals and shoes tomorrow and heading to Aldi for a cheap pair of spare bib shorts.....loving this cycling caper again. Anyway that's my story and now you know who i am. Happy cycling guys and dolls. Keep the wheels spinning and beavers grinning...roll on the weekend. :D

Comments

• PostieJohn
    PostieJohn Posts: 1,105
    All sounds pretty good there, Mike.
    Rutland wil help you out with that 'dull ache' if it continues, but I guess you know that anyway.

As for starting off with a cheaper bike, I give it 3 months before you start a thread entitled:- 'What's the best bike I can get for £5,000'. :lol:
  • JesseD
    JesseD Posts: 1,961
    3 months pah, it won't take that long I reckon 2 weeks :twisted:
    Obsessed is a word used by the lazy to describe the dedicated!
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Welcome aboard gent 8)
  • 1981miked