Bib Shorts - Why?

lochindaal
lochindaal Posts: 475
edited April 2008 in Road beginners
My thoughts on bib longs is to keep you warm during the winter and get some extra upper body protection. This is probably a complete newb misconception.

Under my theory bib shorts don't make sense as it is warm.

What's the advantage over standard shorts?

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    More comfortable. Nothing needed to be tied around the waist to keep the shorts up.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • Mog Uk
    Mog Uk Posts: 964
    Avoids the old 'builders crack'................
  • sicrow
    sicrow Posts: 791
    helps keep the belly in due to their part corset properties
  • I prefer wearing them for the fact that they don't need an elastic waist band to keep them up, which usually tend to dig in after a while. Also, after the winter season where I put a few extra pounds on, they do actually help hide that lol. :P
  • drenkrom
    drenkrom Posts: 1,062
    They keep your "hey-hey" out of the way-hey.
  • Adamskii
    Adamskii Posts: 267
    I don't see the point in bib shorts either. My non bib shorts work just fine.
    It's all good.
  • feel
    feel Posts: 800
    I wear ordinary shorts too and non bib longs, but use braces to keep them up.
    We are born with the dead:
    See, they return, and bring us with them.
  • CHRISNOIR
    CHRISNOIR Posts: 1,400
    They allow for great Freddie Mercuryc1974 impressions...
  • geoff_ss
    geoff_ss Posts: 1,201
    I prefer normal shorts/longs and use braces to keep them up. Much more convenient for toilet stops etc. Bib shorts must be even more inconvenient for women.

Geoff
    Old cyclists never die; they just fit smaller chainrings ... and pedal faster
  • ColinJ
    ColinJ Posts: 2,218
    Adamskii wrote:
    I don't see the point in bib shorts either. My non bib shorts work just fine.
    You obviously haven't suffered CBBB syndrome then :wink: !
  • Adamskii
    Adamskii Posts: 267