Which bike is better for a 39 year beginner?

mrwibble
mrwibble Posts: 980
edited May 2008 in MTB beginners
Looking to spend around £500 and I have narrowed it down to Focus Fat Boy, Genesis Altitude 00 or Carrera Fury. Which is the best for the price but I do like the thought of having the steel frame?
Thanks for the time.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    All are very good for the money. It will vcome down to what feels or fits best. Go and see them in the flesh.
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    Focus - I believe are only available from Wiggle, therefore you're looking at mail-order only. If you're a complete beginner, I wouldn't advise this as it complicates backup, support, etc.

Genesis - looks like a winner for the money, plus you get your steel frame. Steel is the magic material!

Carrera - One word. Halfords. Their backup, technical knowledge and customer service levels vary enormously from store to store. From a personal stand point I'd avoid them like the plague.

If I can give you any advice at all as a noob, it's this - visit loads of dealers, try loads of bikes. It's the only way to find one properly that suits you.
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue
    Help for Heroes
    JayPic
  • mrwibble
    Would the steel frame be best for me and which is the best fork, the RockShox Dart 2 Lockout 100mm or Rock Shox Tora 289, 100mm or the Rock Shox Tora 318 U-Turn fork?
  • supersonic
    Again, what frame is best is pure preference - see if you can try them. Steel is generally heavier, but more comfortable.

I can say that the 318 Tora is the best fork, and both are a way ahead of the Dart.
  • KonaMike
    KonaMike Posts: 805
    I have the 2007 Fury with Tora 318 and I love it,with a few upgrades it rides like a much more expensive bike. I cant vouch for the 2008 Fury as i have not seen the spec but if you can get a 2007 at a reduced price (I paid £439) you will love it !!
  • Thewaylander