Listen To This shoot...

jusgray
jusgray Posts: 154
edited April 2008 in Commuting chat
Ok being a newbie i was a bit confused about riding to work on dual carrigeways so thought i know who can give me a definate answer ... a traffic cop.

So I phoned our local station and they put me through to a traffic cop, i explained my worries and this was his reply ...

I`m allowed to ride on any dual carrigeway as long as i stay close to the kerb and do not stop the flow of traffic :shock: i then said i would rather take up a whole lane then do that and his reply was most police officers would pull me over :) and explain to me the rules of commuting.

By the sounds of this traffic cop if i got pulled by him i would probably be in jail. He also said under no circumstances am i allowed to ride on the paths even for my own safety because its against the law.

Well stuff the law as my safety will come first .. is this guy speaking sh it?

Comments

• Cunobelin
    Cunobelin Posts: 11,792
    Yes and no...

Google Daniel Cadden's case last year.
    <b><i>He that buys land buys many stones.
    He that buys flesh buys many bones.
    He that buys eggs buys many shells,
    But he that buys good beer buys nothing else.</b></i>
    (Unattributed Trad.)
  • attica
    attica Posts: 2,362
    Hey Jusgray

Does the dual carrigeway have a hard shoulder?
    Actually I'm not sure I'd even consider it then.
    Oh crikey, I've just noticed yout location, please say you're not considering venturing out onto the Coventry ring road, I used to actively avoid that when I lived there and used a car.

I think the copper might have a point though. If you ride in the primary with lots of fast traffic around you you're going to be causing lots of lane changing and general mayhem, I don't think that's a good idea, legal or not.