Pain in the Pennines

CyclingBantam
CyclingBantam Posts: 1,299
Hello all,

Whilst purchasing a new innertube following a p*nct*re on my way to work yesterday I spotted a sign for the Pain in the Pennine Sportive on 15th June. I saw there was a Long (103 miles) and a short (60) route. I have been cycling for about 9 months and regularly commute 12.5 miles to work over a hilly yorkshire route (I guess some of the same hills to be used). Has anyone else done this before? Would the 60 mile route be achievable or is it a real killer for a relative newbie?

Thanks

Ben

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    BenBlyth wrote:
    Hello all,

Whilst purchasing a new innertube following a p*nct*re on my way to work yesterday I spotted a sign for the Pain in the Pennine Sportive on 15th June. I saw there was a Long (103 miles) and a short (60) route. I have been cycling for about 9 months and regularly commute 12.5 miles to work over a hilly yorkshire route (I guess some of the same hills to be used). Has anyone else done this before? Would the 60 mile route be achievable or is it a real killer for a relative newbie?

Thanks

Ben

Hi Ben,

Don't know the exact route but I reckon thats a wise choice your making there...it will be hilly no doubt but 60miles is an excellent goal for your first sportif, and I'm sure you would be just fine if you eat and drank properly, not only that I reckon it would give you a real confidence boost and im sure you would love the day being with many other like minded chaps...a good way to get the cycling bug and who knows...maybe a way to get into this great hobbiein a bigger way...then next year you can try your hand at some the real toughies.

Go for it...whats to lose?
  • ColinJ
    ColinJ Posts: 2,218