Hi all from a complete newbie!

Duffer
Duffer Posts: 379
edited April 2008 in MTB beginners
Eh up, all!

as the title suggests, i'm a complete newbie to mountain biking, but am highly interested in getting into the sport. i had a BMX as a kid that i had much fun breaking at the weekend around Lincoln city centre, before fixing it again so i could ride it to school on the monday... ahh, the memories :)

anyway, about me. my name is steve, i'm 20 years old, living in weston super mare. i'm currently serving in the RAF at Lyneham, near swindon. because of the nature of my job, i frequent such holiday destinations as Iraq and Afghanistan (come to mention it, i'm off to the desert on a week tuesday)

anyway - question. i uncovered an old Saracen burried at the back of our garage the other week. (i've no idea of a model number, i just know it says saracen on the side!) so i'm guessing it's not really going to be man enough to stand up to anything more serious than a mild dirt track...? and i'm not really prepared to go splashing £500 plus on a serious bike at this stage. so am i completely wasting my time upgrading the one i've got? my other option is to build one from scratch - this is my personal favourite option really, given my love of building things and working on stuff. is this option going to be realistic?

any opinions/advice from seasoned bikers will be greatly recieved!

lastly, anyone know of some good tracks around weston super mare, or swindon area?

thanks all

steve

Comments

• stumpyjon
    stumpyjon Posts: 4,069