New bike advice - help me spend my tax rebate wisely!

becmark
becmark Posts: 7
edited April 2008 in Road beginners
Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum so please be nice. I'm looking for a bit of bike advice. If I explain what I want to do, I'm hoping you guys can give me some pointers. I currently ride a relatively cheapie MTB on weekends, holidays and light evenings. Nothing too serious (family & work commitments prevent that) rides usually last 1 to 2 hours. Very occasionally I get to negotiate half or full days out and about.

I've developed an urge to go further and faster, in the time I have. A very fortuitous tax rebate means I now have £700 max to spend on a new bike. :D

I live in Norfolk so hills not an issue most of the time! The area where I ride has a lot of country lanes, pleasant in many ways, but they sometimes have a covering of mucho potholes, loose grit & horse poo! I need a road bike for sub £700 that won't feel too skittish and also a bike I can ride all year round (although I can keep my MTB for really filthy weather)

After some research - although I don't intend to do cyclocross, the spec of the Focus Mares Cross (Evans) looks excellent. Alternatively I was considering a Scott or Trek road bike.

All opinions welcome - help me spend the Inland Revenue's money wisely.

Comments

• Barrie_G
    Barrie_G Posts: 479
    This was my second choice bike when I bought my new on recently, and you describe the same type of riding that I do, I can only say that the Felt F1X cyclocross bike that I bought (even though I haven't managed to get very far on it yet) is vastly superior for this type of riding than the MTB ever was :wink:
  • allaction
    allaction Posts: 209