Hey guys, newbie here. Quick saddle question.

frayz
frayz Posts: 40
edited April 2008 in MTB beginners
Hey chaps,

Ive just purchased my first new bike since i was 13 lol. Im using it for just casual rides with the girlfriend and then trails and tracks with my mates.

Its a 17" Scott Scale 50 2008 model. Im really really pleased with it. However i find the saddle quite hard and it makes my arse ache after a while.

Is this normal as i havent ridden for years?

Will the saddle bed in?

Can you guys point me in the direction of a comfy saddle or is it something i need to try or what?

Id like a white one, similar to the OEM one.

Heres a few pics of my bike... just 24hours old :D

Should hopefully help me get some much needed exercise lol

Scottday125edit.jpg

Scottday175edit.jpg

Scottday165edit.jpg

Scottday134edit.jpg

Scottday198edit.jpg

Scottday179edit.jpg

Scottday158edit.jpg

Scottday145edit.jpg

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    They do tend to bed in and loosen up a bit. And you get used to them! try it for a bit longer, and if it still causes grief, think then of changing it.
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    not having ridden for a number of years will have a factor as well. arse and saddle need to get friendly.

oh you do have some padded shorts don't you.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • jeffers696
    jeffers696 Posts: 328
    ye padded shorts make a bike so mutch nicer
    Specailized Enduro 08 - Beast
    OnOne 456
  • frayz
    Sorry lads, no padded shorts. Any recomendations?
  • nicklouse
    TBH any padded lycra shorts. Worn under baggies if so inclined :wink:
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."