Total Beginner advice

ljmarshall
ljmarshall Posts: 4
edited April 2008 in Road beginners
First of all apoligise if there is something along these lines already in the forum but sadly i could not find the answers i seek.

Basically i am a pure newcomer to the world of cycling and am planning to undertake a 2-3 week John o'groats to lands end cycle ride back end of this summer. Sadly as im a totaL newcomer i have no idea on gear and equipment i will require so i was hopeing for a point in the right direction.

Bike.
Training is in motion on a city bike on average 25 miles a day on hilly terrain. Obviously the key word here is that im using a city hybrid thingy and am finding it quite frustrating when a group of seasoned cyclist overtake me in what seems like 3 times the speed. From this i gathered i seriously need to invest in a decent road bike. So as i have no clues or preferences im seeking advice on a budget of £500 (willing to increase if the bike is a must but cant go over 1k or missus will kill me)

Accessorys (incorrectly spelled i bet)
For the actual ride what spare equipment must i cary as i have not yet had the pleasure of a puncture so any advice on this would also be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Liam Marshall

Comments

• Nuggs
    Nuggs Posts: 1,804
    Liam - welcome to the Forum and good luck on your LEJOG adventure!

I'd definitely recommend moving from your hybrid to a road bike for that sort of journey. The road bike should be lighter, so less effort. However, the main reason I'd go for a road bike is the comfort factor - being able to use a variety of hand placements will be a godsend on such a long ride.

Unfortunately, you will still be overtaken by seasoned cyclists going three times your speed. The bike won't help much with that. Your speed will only come as you improve the bike's engine - i.e. you!