Standard Double -----> Compact , the imapct of change ?

saif
saif Posts: 100
edited April 2008 in Road beginners
I've been riding on my winter bike for the last three months which has a Standard Double chain ring and gear. (14spd). Today , I went for a my Saturday ride (35 Miles) on my Best Bike , which has a compact chain ring(10 spd) , and to my utter surprise It was a tough ride for me today. Is that bizzare ? Considering that my Best Bike is a lot more expensive than my Winter Bike.

Any opinions here ? As I'm now confused and can't make up my mind which one to use for my upcoming Hays to Brighton ride ...?

Comments

• JWSurrey
    JWSurrey Posts: 1,173
    Was it exactly the same run, or a more windy route?
    Did you work out that it was worse from your speed/distance averages?
    Some times I go out, it feels harder, and when I look at the stats, I was faster and did it with a lower heart rate!
    You may be coming down with a cold.

Check your set up too - Distance from saddle top, to centre of crank arm.
    Distance from seat tip to middle of handlebar top.

The compact itself wouldn't make it harder - if anything it just gives you a greater range of ratios.
  • saif
    saif Posts: 100
    It was the same route which I have few times before .
    I did not have any problems health wise , had a very good sleep over the night.

I did feel that my saddle was a bit low , hence stopped and raised the saddle a bit , which did ease off the torture a bit. I was a bit windier , but nothing significant

My stats which I record on my Nokia N95 Sports Tracker , did show that my avg. speed dipped by 0.5m.