Which cheap road bike?

Infamous
Infamous Posts: 1,130
edited April 2008 in Road beginners
Hi first post.

I've been riding a cheap hybrid for a few months and want to get a road bike. I only ride for fitness and I (try to) ride 10+ hours a week.

Budget is around £250, so far i've narrowed it down to an Airlite 100 or a halfords carrera virtuoso. What do you think of them? any other bikes around that price?

I'm not bothered about the weight of the bike, just want something that will last for a while without braking.

thanks

p.s. I'm also looking at 2nd hand bikes, although i'd prefer a new one.

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    Have a look in Decathlon, they might have their 2008 bikes in by now.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • DavidTQ
    DavidTQ Posts: 943
    Should be able to find Giant SCR's in your price range secondhand.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    The Saracen Tour 07 is at 250 from 350.

I have an Airlite 100 and trust me you would regret buying it. It came with a creaking bottom bracket, which I paid to change myself as it was also one of the nasty semi sealed units.
    The wheels are pretty bad and after a good six months just try and turn a spoke nipple without it rounding off.
    The brakes are acceptable although harder to set up as they are single pivot.
    By now the frame is so flexy that I can hear the brake rubbing on he rim when I put the power down. It is definitely the frame and not the wheel as I got a new rear wheel which I have rebuilt myself to a very high standard.
    Plus it used to have the gears on top of the bars before I changed them. I could live with having to sit up to change the gears but the shifters themselves were awful. The outer cable was always at the correct length and still managed to both over and undershift.
    The stem was miles too long too.