Giant SCR 1.0

dboden
dboden Posts: 349
edited April 2008 in Road beginners
I am new to road cycling.
I have just bought a Giant SCR 1.0 2007 second hand, as new for £400.
Feedback from people that have them please.
Also how long can I expect to be using this standard of bike before needing to upgrade?
Have I done the right thing?.... Gulp.
Its all a bit daunting at the start.

Comments

• DavidTQ
    DavidTQ Posts: 943
    Ive got the 2007 giant scr 1.0 I paid about £600 new for it. Great bike Im doing 14 miles a day commuting on it with panniers and all, far faster than my previous hybrid...

The only way to tell when you will want to upgrade is when you start riding it, personally Im not feeling the "need" to upgrade, although if you were to want to I would have thought wheels would have been your first stop, depends largelly on what you want out of your bike. If you are time trialling you might want to upgrade sooner than if you are commuting.

Overall the bikes a nice bike 105 gearing is a decent level, the brakes are respectable, the wheels and tyres are the weakest points of the while bike and the wheels are acceptable enough, mine have done around 2500 miles now...
  • dboden
    I think the trouble is, I will be going out with my mates, who have all got carbon bikes £1000 upwards. I,m afraid I had a budget (or: wife & family).

But this makes me think, will I always be at the back because of the quality of my bike?????
  • DavidTQ
    dboden wrote:
    I think the trouble is, I will be going out with my mates, who have all got carbon bikes £1000 upwards. I,m afraid I had a budget (or: wife & family).

But this makes me think, will I always be at the back because of the quality of my bike?????