New bike needed for climbing in the Alps?

NUFCrichard
NUFCrichard Posts: 103
edited April 2008 in Road beginners
I'm a relative novice to proper cycling, I bought myself a very cheap road bike (carrera virtuoso) last November for commuting my 8 miles to work. Now I have decided to go to the Alps and climb a few of the famous cols, will I be able to do it on my cheapo bike?

I have done a good bit of training, my first century (London-Brighton-London) on my current bike okay but don't know if:

a) my 36:25 will be a low enough gear for me
or b) I am going to hamper myself by using a poor bike when climbing serious mountains.

What do you think? I have 10 weeks until I go away so I have some time to decide but I'd obviously rather know sooner than later!

Comments

• bigmat
    bigmat Posts: 5,134
    Depends on fitness, and if the bike is running smoothly - if you're happy with it, no need to change. I reckon 36/25 should be OK, I've done HC Alpine climbs on a 34/23 which must be pretty similar ratio. Its really not about the bike - last time me and my mates went to the Alps, one guy hired a mountain bike (with suspension forks and knobbly tyres) and beat all but 2 of us to the top of the col de Joux Plane.
  • John.T
    John.T Posts: 3,698
    You could fit a 34 inner ring and change the cassette to a 12/27 quite cheaply. This would give lower gears and should be fine. Don't change the bike just for the trip. If you are comfortable on it stay with it. If not start looking now. That opens a whole new can of worms.
  • I agree John T, my carrera valour had change the cassette 11-28 and still same crankset 50/36. then just tune up . No problem and cheaper.
  • feel
    feel Posts: 800
    Newcastle supporters are't allowed on the alps - Safc are :wink: