Realistic goals for newbie

Nomen
Nomen Posts: 5
edited May 2008 in Road beginners
Hi, the name's Carl. I'm new to cycling (and this forum) and could need some help. Specifically with setting some realistic long-term goals.

I invested in a new bike a few months back and was struck by how good it felt to get out and just, well, ride, compared to my old pile of rust. :) It's not a racing bike, I guess it could be called a hybrid or touring bike. Lacking a car I use it when I go shopping, I bring the dog in a trailer when I wish to train it somewhere else than near home etc, however I don't mind if this means it is more work intensive than a race bike. I'm not after competing against others, only against myself.

Not counting the handful of miles I use it for transportation most days, I try to get out for more intense rides four or five days a week. Being 33 years old, sitting in front of a computer most of the day and not having done any real exercise for many years I try and restrain myself and go easy. Also, I've had problems with my knees in the past and want to give them time to adapt. I usually take a 6-8 mile quick ride or a slightly more relaxed 15-18 mile ride, always after ten minutes of easy warm up. Yesterday I did a 13 mile course in an hour and ended with a pulse of 135 bpm. (Hey, don't laugh, I'm more or less a couch potato! ;))

I'm still trying to find my limits, to see how long and hard I can ride while not being too tired for another run in one or two days. I figure that ought to give better results than riding with constantly tired leg muscles, not to mention being more enjoyable. Or am I wrong there? As far as I remember muscles need time to recuperate after exercise so any growth and adjustments has time to take place, at least for a beginner.