lightweight touring - shoes, cleats!

r0msey
r0msey Posts: 31
edited April 2008 in Tour & expedition
I'm just getting into touring, and trying to pack less to keep the weight down. One thing I'm finding a pain is always having to pack an extra pair of shoes.

At present I'm using some MTB shoes with reasonably resessed cleats, but I still sound like a tap dancer walking down the street.

Has anyone found a sensible solution to this - I'm thinking if I could design some kind of rubber cleat cover for my cycling shoes that would be one option - does such a thing exist? Are there such things as touring shoes with fully resessed cleats? I've thought about using a bit of old inner tube wrapped round the toes with elastic bands, but thats a) not very attractive b) not likely to stay on...

Or the other option - ditch cycling shoes with cleats for touring and forget clipping in. Your views?

Comments

• andymiller
    andymiller Posts: 2,856
    Maybe it's the particular type of shoe you're using?I never have any problem with MTB shoes (currently using Pearl Izumi with Shimano SPD cleats, before that I had Specialized MTB Comps).
  • andymiller
    andymiller Posts: 2,856
    Maybe it's the particular type of shoe you're using?I never have any problem with MTB shoes (currently using Pearl Izumi with Shimano SPD cleats, before that I had Specialized MTB Comps).
  • pneumatic
    pneumatic Posts: 1,989
    My specialized touring shoes (spd) are the most comfortable pair of footwear I own and they only ever click on cobbles. They've got a good sole on them for walking on rough ground, too.

I tour with them as my only pair of shoes, though a pair of flipflops weigh nothing and pack flat if you want a change off the bike.

Fast and Bulbous
    Peregrinations
    Eddingtons: 80 (Metric); 60 (Imperial)

• blorg
    blorg Posts: 1,169