Rear Hub Threads.

meagain
meagain Posts: 2,331
edited March 2008 in Road general
Help, I'm confused! (OK, little new there, then.)

Wishing to convert a screw on to fixed, I naively assumed that standard sprockets would fit the hub I intended using: they won't. Mixing and matching bits to hand revealed that the block ("Atom. SICC. Made in Italy") on the hub WILL screw on a Campag - and the fixed sprockets won't. I also have one sprocket (French I think) that won't fit these NOR UK hubs. So that's three threadings?

So, can I source sprockets that fit the Campag and the no-name one (presumably also Italian?). If so, how will the threading be specified?

Any info appreciated! Otherwise I'll have to rebuild the wheel onto a different hub...
d.j.
"Cancel my subscription to the resurrection."

Comments

• meagain
    PS Further research (Sheldon naturally!) reveals the differences (tho' not being an engineer I'm not sure of the significance). BUT he concludes "ISO, English and Italian are all semi-interchangeable, but it you shouldn't go back and forth between different types of freewheels on the same hub repeatedly."

Does this mean that I can simply brutally force an English threaded sprocket onto the no-name (I shan't so mistreat the unused Campag Record L/Fs, honest)? Obviously be a b*^"*$r to remove, but a problem delayed is a problem overcome!
    d.j.
  • Dickie
    Dickie Posts: 1,489
    Hi Dave it is possibly the thread angles as well which differ.

If there is a pitch error it wont matter to much over a short distance. But my feeling is if its pitch error dont force it, this is the worst sort of mismatch.