New Hybrid for 200-300 range

damoske
damoske Posts: 4
edited March 2008 in Road beginners
Hi folks,

I'm just getting into biking, and have yet another new bike recommendation request. From my local dealers (Halfords and Comptons), I've narrowed my choice to:

Ridgeback Rapide Speed : £229
Carrera Subway 2 : £259 inc £50 accessories
Carrera Crossfire 2 : £259 inc £50 accessories

I'm in London Zone 2 and work from home, so I'd mostly use it for nipping to the shops or into central London, along with some occasional bike one-day ride outs (say 40-60 miles).

I like the included guards and rack on the Ridgeback (style isn't a priority), plus the idea of an LBS. The Subway's a bit less tame, but has disc brakes and seat suspension, and generally very good write-ups.

And the Crossfire 2.... it seems more suited to civilsed travelling/touring than the Subway, an I like the bigger seat (not sure about the suspension forks) but I can't find any write-ups anywhere on it. Do they exist in the wild?!?

I'm keen to buy from my LBS, but the £50 accessories (and discs and suspension into the bargain) are so tempting... :-(

D

Comments

• acorn_user
    acorn_user Posts: 1,137
    Do not know too much about the bikes in question, but front suspension is a big no-no on the road. It slows you down, and feels really unwieldy. I would recommend a bike with a rigid fork. Also, it is nice to have factory guards and racks, because they are the right kind, fitted correctly (one store persistently fitted my mudguards incorrectly, luckily I learnt my lesson and fit them myself now.)
  • feel
    feel Posts: 800