how good do you need to be?

lexiekay
lexiekay Posts: 379
edited March 2008 in MTB beginners
I bought my first mountain bike in October, and have been riding throughout the winter as much as I can - mostly road and tracks, with some off-road and singletrack thrown in. I absolutely love it, and cant imagine what I was doing before! I really want to try trails like Afan and others in Wales, but a bit worried about the level of skill required. I can do some technical stuff like berms, riding roots and things, but dont have any mates who are into riding, so its difficult to tell how much more I need to know! Any help or tips would be great...
Also, is it ok to ride these trails on your own, or would you recommend trying to find someone to go with?
Thanks!

Comments

• miss notax
    miss notax Posts: 2,572
    Hello :D

I started riding about the same time as you and am also loving it :D:D

I would say go for it and ride Afan etc - i've been several times and although i'm still a beginner I just get off and walk the bits that I can't do. I felt a bit daft the first time but everyone has been great, and as long you keep an eye out and don't get in the ways of the guys riding it's fine!

You'll get so much from riding in a different environment, and it really is great fun. Go for it, you'll have a fab time!

Personally, I would definitely say ride with others though... Not only from a safety point of view, but it's nice to have someone to congratulate on the good bits (and make you feel better for the bad bits!). I also ride better and faster with others.

Enjoy!

Sarah
    Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away....

Riding a gorgeous ano orange Turner Burner!

Sponsor the CC2CC at http://www.justgiving.com/cc2cc
  • Thewaylander
    Thewaylander Posts: 8,594
    Totally agree with Sarah,