Can you help me please?

lolli
lolli Posts: 3
edited March 2008 in Road beginners
I'm new to cycling and have just signed up to do London - Paris in Sep 08 (280 miles over 4 days). There are a few questions I have:

1. Can anyone suggest a training programme?
2. I am using a hybrid bike - when I ride my wrists ache and my fingers go numb after about 30 mins. Can anyone tell me how I can avoid this or exercises that would help.
3. For the distance would people recommend I get pedals with clips?
4. Has anyone done this ride and can they give me any additional advice?

Many thanks for all your advice in advance

Lou

Comments

• meagain
    meagain Posts: 2,331
    "1. Can anyone suggest a training programme?"

Might be useful if know from where you are starting in terms of fitness, cycling etc!
    d.j.
    "Cancel my subscription to the resurrection."
  • Rich Hcp
    Rich Hcp Posts: 1,355
    Training

Work up to a reasonable distance with a few days between

Then do two consecutive days, working up to the distance

It's not scientific, but workks for me.

Aching wrists, I have read elsewhere that this is caused by too much forward weight on to the wrists, but there are more qualified people than me to comment on that
    Richard

Giving it Large
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    1. You'll be riding 70 miles a day average so simply build up your ride distances so that you can achieve 50-60 miles a day on two consecutive days - this should be enough to get you through it. Your weekly mileage should increase by no more than 10% a week to avoid getting knee problems etc.

2. Could be your position (too much weight on your wrists) so check that out first. If there is nothing wrong with your position, maybe consider fitting drop bars as these give you another couple of hand positions so that you don't get fatigued so quickly.