Wanting to get in to road biking - Issimo bike?

sirlylos
sirlylos Posts: 234
edited March 2008 in Road beginners
I've been riding mountain bikes for about 15 years now but I'm interested in purchasing a road bike. The cheapest reputable named bikes I can find i.e. Giant and Specialized start from £400 which is quite a lot to spend. However, I have noticed a few on ebay, on in particular is an Issimo.

Issimo on ebay

I've never heard of Issimo and it could just be cheap tat but the price looks good. Can any of you advise me on what I should do and maybe what my best options would be for getting in to road biking without spending a fortune.

Thanks in advance :wink:
1993 - Ridgeback 301 G3
1995 - Ridgeback 601 GS
1997 - Specialized Hardrock
2003 - Specialized FSR XC
2008 - Specialized Epic FSR Comp
2009 - Giant Defy 3
2010 - Voodoo Wanga
2012 - Cannondale Supersix 105

Comments

• Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    I'd steer clear of any bikes advertised with a picture that shows the bars in this weird position! Never heard of Isimo...............looks like cheap tat from what I can see and the very little info given in the listing.

rsx408-b.jpg
  • acorn_user
    acorn_user Posts: 1,137
    Alarm! Avoid that bike. It will be no fun to ride. There are cheaper reputable bikes out there. Edinburgh bikes have one, and do consider "British" brands like Claud Butler and Raleigh that many ignore. Giant also do some nice cheaper ones like the SCR4. If you go cheap, you will end up wondering what all the fuss is about and would rightly decide to use slicks on an mtb. Or go 2nd hand.
  • Campy King
    Campy King Posts: 201
    I find that bike worrying to say the least! You could get a half decent second hand bike for a little more than that.
  • Mog Uk
    Mog Uk Posts: 964
    Decathlon are well worth a look if you have one close to you......
  • daniel_b
    daniel_b Posts: 11,870
    What is your budget?

Raleigh Airlite's on ebay are 'reasonable' by most accounts.