Problems with my clip in pedals

jonesyuk
jonesyuk Posts: 8
edited October 2009 in MTB general
Hi, I'm pretty new to all this and have a problem with my pedals/cleats

They are my first set of clip in pedals and I have only used them once, heres the problem:

The left pedal/cleat/shoe is fine, clips in lovely, feels perfectly fine, twist my ankle outwards and they come free. Lovely. The right side however is not so good. Clips in fine, if ya lift ya foot directly up flat, it stays where it should fine, but if I lift the inside of my foot up,even with the pedals adjusted to a tight setting, come loose. So, if im pedeling hard and my foot moves a fraction the wrong way....my foot comes loose. Very dangerous. Like I said I only used them once out doors on the roads and they seemed fine, but now i have them in my gym on my exersise bike and now they dont work properly after a couple of rides

I dont know whats at fault. The pedals? The shoes? The cleats? Can it be fixed? How did they 'break'?

They are pretty cheap as it is my first set and i didnt know how I would take to them, the pedals are Shimano PD-M520 I think. The shoes are dhb T1 Shoes with the correct cleats to fit. All bought from www.wiggle.co.uk

Thanks in advance

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • jonesyuk
    nicklouse wrote:

Nah thats not my problem mate, mine unclip fine when twisting heel outwards, problem is the right foot unclips when i dont want it to. By lifting my foot up at a certain angle. This shouldnt happen as the manual says the only way to unclip is heel outwards.
  • nicklouse
    ok then what are the cleats? both types will unclip when twisted inwards as well as outwards. the multi release can also be pulled straight out at low tension.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."