Shoes/pedal advice

andy81
andy81 Posts: 118
edited February 2008 in Road beginners
I bought my first road bike in October, being a Carrera Valour on the cycle to work scheme, and have since been really getting into it.

I'm now getting to the stage where I'm keen to get some proper shoes and clipless pedals, but not knowing what to look for, I'm a bit unsure where to start. I've been looking on the forum and know that the SPD SLs and Look pedals get good reviews, but other than that am a bit clueless.

As you may guess from my choice of bike, as a beginner I'm keen not to spend a fortune on this, and was looking at the DHB range on Wiggle.com (I've been pretty happy with DHB purchased so far), but not sure how good these shoes are compared to the rest of the market.

Any advice on what pedals/shoes to go for, sizing advice etc would be very welcome!

Thanks

Andy

Comments

• huggy
    huggy Posts: 242
    I had this same problem just last week - go on to ebay and type in R540 SPD SL
    They are probably the cheapest you're going to find pedals and most on there come with float cleats. As for shoes, well I bought a pair that were reduced from £129.99 to £49.99:

http://shop.devercycles.co.uk/product/2 ... oggio_Shoe

http://shop.devercycles.co.uk/index.htm ... ksearch=86

Just have a look on that site, they're pretty cheap if they have your size. Also, ebay sell Shimano road shoes for £20-£30 - try typing in SHIMANO SH-RO61

One thing to be sure of is the compatibility - if you want SPD SL make sure there are 3 holes in a triangle on the sole!

Huggy