Mountain Biking In London (noob)

jeboy
jeboy Posts: 9
edited April 2008 in MTB beginners
Hi to all, Im new with all this so please bear with me.

Firstly, im unfit, and would like to start biking as a way to get a bit fitter as well as for the enjoyment of it. I can spend £750 on a bike and would appreciate some advice on a good bike to get for that money?

I live in East London, and to be honest, I just want a mountain bike because they look way better than road/hybrid bikes, so feel free to call me a poser I guess :oops: I've researched some bikes and I came up with this list:

Focus Fat Boy 2008
GT Avalanche 1 Disc 2008
Mongoose Tyax Super 2008
Mongoose Otero Super 2008
Saracen Ariel 1 2008

so which one??

I'll be riding the bike about 20miles a week, but is it alright to ride a Mountain bike, especially full sus on road and pavements? please I need help, thanks a lot. And also do yall know any mtb spot in london or nearer?

Comments

• xcracer
    xcracer Posts: 298
    Don't ride your bike on the pavement. That's for pedestrians.

Try Epping Forest.
  • I ride on the pavement all the time. :lol:
    MySpace
    All fur coat and no knickers....
  • Random Vince
    Random Vince Posts: 11,374
    full suspension = more weight

also the cheaper (under £800) ride like a trampoline - there is no point to it at all for road use.

to be honest with you, when i use my mountain bike to get into uni i'll pump the forks up until they are almost rigid and ride it as if it doesn't have suspension at all.

a road bike (such as the scott speedster with flat bars) or rigid mountain bike with higher gearing would be the way to go

if i see you on the pavement it gives me a right to kick you hard and issue you with a £30 on the spot fine.

i think twice about 20 miles on road on the mountain bike

on the road bike it's no problem tho
    My signature was stolen by a moose

that will be all

trying to get GT James banned since tuesday
  • jeboy