Please help me - Recommendations for a bike under £1000

Michael1981
Michael1981 Posts: 4
edited February 2008 in Road beginners
Hello, I'm new to road bikes so any advice would be very appreciated.

I have a budget of £1000 to buy a bike through my cycle to work scheme. I am a big MTB rider and have always purchased Specialized bikes in the past so woudl like to stay with them for a road bike. However, im open to ideas and views and what is the best value for money. Focus seems to be a popular make witrh my budget....

I would like a fast, light bike for 70 mile plus rides including triathlons and bike riding events.

Any advice is very welcomed.

Comments

• Mog Uk
    Mog Uk Posts: 964
    Focus Cayo or Planet X seem to be the popular suggestions...

Have a nosey using search, the £1000 question is asked almost every week :wink:
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    It must be the most popular question.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • Cheers, wasn't being lazy as I did search and read the other posts. I was just interested to know whether Specialized bikes are good value for money at this price compared to other brands. Cheers for the advice lads.
  • Eat My Dust
    Eat My Dust Posts: 3,965
    You'll get a lot more bike for your money with PX or Focus than you'll ever get with Spesh.
  • I went from a Spesh Stumpjumper to a Spesh Allez a few years ago and liked the feel of it over the other bikes in the category because it had a bit of zing to it despite my weight and size. Compared to Cannondale, Bianchi and Trek it seemed you could chuck it about it a bit more, and it rode much more like the MTBs I've been used to(!)

Not sure you even have to spend as much as £1000... save some and upgrade your wheels later maybe...