Advice needed for a new commuting bike

Slips
Slips Posts: 3
edited February 2008 in Commuting chat
Hi,

I've been commuting in London for a couple of years now and do about 60-100 miles a week. I started off borrowing an old mountain bike off a mate to see if I liked cycling. I loved cycling but never got round to updating the ratty old mountain bike. Two years on I feel I've done enough miles to warrant getting a better bilke but I'm not sure where to turn.

My brother (who I convinced to start cycling as well) had a Genesis Flyer single speed for a while. I tried it for a week and whilst I loved speed and agility of the bike I found it a bit frail. It came to a head when the rear wheel buckled when I half way home - I'm not a fat biffa I promise. He also had quite a few punctures which aren't that much fun. He sold it a few months back since he felt it was a bit lightweight for the commute.

I've had a look on this site and the general consensus is that a good road bilke is the best ticket for a happy and fast commute. I'd previously been looking at hybrids and had been tempted by the Marin Lucas Valley. Another friend who referred this site mentioned the Charge Plug. This looks amazing but I missed gears last time I road a single speed and may want flexibility for hillier weekend riding.

I'd really appreciate some advice for a relatively tough wearing, fast, commuter that I could use at the weekend for some longer riders, less flat rides. I've got a budget of between £500-£800.

Thanks,

Slips
It's not the end of the world but you can see it!

Comments

• navt
    navt Posts: 374
    What about the Genesis Day series? I use the Day 01 personally and would not hesistate recommending it as an excellent commuter bike.
  • RC21
    RC21 Posts: 166
    I'm in the same boat as you - the best advice I was given was to go to a bile shop and try a couple out.