Bike for the Etape

Tom Slade
Tom Slade Posts: 15
edited January 2008 in Road beginners
Hello

Please forgive the dull question to follow.

I have signed up to do the Etape this summer. Unfortunately I am relatively new to buying new bikes, having only really bought second hand wrecks for commuting. I really don't think the Ridgeback Genesis Day00 I shamble around on right now would cut it.

What models would be a good place to start when browsing. Can I get away with something for about £500? Sorry, two dull questions!.

Any advice would be very much appreciated.
Tom

Comments

• mrushton
    mrushton Posts: 5,182
    The bike you can ride/afford would be the best answer. you need comfort/reliabilityand the right gears. Forget about carbon wheels and all the bling you see. There will be alot of suggestions on here. In french or italian sporives, you'll often see the older riders on classic old steel bikes (you'll see them on some top kit as well!) because that's what they are used to
    M.Rushton
  • clanton
    clanton Posts: 1,289
    Test ride your eventual short list before you buy. Buy the best you can within your budget but don't skimp on essential extras - especially decent (comfy) shoes!
    Gearing wise you will need either a compact (2 chain rings, normally 50/34 linked to a cassette usually with a 25 or 27 tooth biggest cog on the rear, go for 27 if possible) or a triple (3 front chain rings).
  • Thanks both. I am uninterested in bling (though surprisingly picky about the colour...) and am convinced a triple is for me (I smoke too much).

Edwards in Camberwell, near me, stocks Giant. They always look very smart. Good place to start?
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    Giant's are very good, but look a bit boring and have shimano drivetrains.

However for the money, you'll find it difficult to find better bikes to get you the distance.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • Are Shimano drivetrains a no no? What's a drivetrain?!