Climbing hills - whats the best gear to use?

dapa
dapa Posts: 7
edited February 2008 in XC and Enduro
Hi

When climbing hills what gear should I be in.

I find that the lower gears are too light resulting in my front wheel popping up. Also I seem to be pedaling and getting nowhere fast.

If I go into the higher gears I also get nowhere fast as the lactose acid kicks in and my legs just give up.

As you may have guessed I am a beginner to the sport - maybe I just need to improve my stamina first!

I am riding a Hardrock pro 2008.

Comments

• Not sure if its the same but if you going up a hill on a road bike (on a road) then spinning the crank is better for the muscles and endurance than pushing a big gear. There is a point though when you can be in too low a gear.

I don't think there is a magic answer, it's whatever feels right, maybe try and look at it like this and experiment.

If I'm spinning and going nowhere keep changing down at a time until its too much resitance then go back up two and see how it feels.

Or change to a single speed.
  • dav1
    dav1 Posts: 1,298
    depends on the hill length, incline and your riding style IMO.

Usually i will get myself on the nose of the saddle, middle chainring and get the rear sprochet into gear 4/8 and shift down as I lose momentum to 3 or 2/8.

for bigger steaper hills I may hit 1 at the front and do the same thing.

trick is to not try and shift the chainrings when climbing as they dont like being shifted under load like you can with the rear block.

As has been said, try different styles until you fond something that works for you and practice!.
    Giant TCR advanced 2 (Summer/race)
    Merlin single malt fixie (Commuter/winter/training)
    Trek superfly 7 (Summer XC)
    Giant Yukon singlespeed conversion (winter MTB/Ice/snow)

Carrera virtuoso - RIP
  • omegas
    omegas Posts: 970