Which seat clamp and wheel skewer set?

jobow79
jobow79 Posts: 15
edited January 2008 in MTB buying advice
Hi all,

Had my new bike (Orange P7 Pro) a couple of months and for the first time got on it yesterday for a proper ride. Loved it!

However, to "pimp it up" I was thinking of updgrading the wheel and seat quick release clamps. At present there are some stadard DT Swiss parts.

I was thinking of Hope products, but have read that the wheel clamps come undone and the seat mechanism is o.k?

Any suggestions on any other brands? Preferably with a range of colours!

Many thanks

Joe

Comments

• Andy B
    Andy B Posts: 8,115
    I've been running Hope skewers & post clamps for 4 years and I've not had a single problem with them. Highly recommended.
    2385861000_d125abe796_m.jpg
  • dunker
    dunker Posts: 1,503
    salsa seatpost clamp with salsa skewers www.stif.co.uk or xtr skewers www.pedalon.co.uk. then cover in tasty layer of titanium www.tibolts.co.uk :)
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    I've had no problem with hope, I've also used the A2Z ti ones, they were really nice. Needed to do them up tight though.
  • Splasher
    Splasher Posts: 1,528
    I would say DT Swiss were as good or better than all of those mentioned above. I'd stick with them. Bright shouty colours may impress those who don't know, but understated quality will impress those who do!
    "Internet Forums - an amazing world where outright falsehoods become cyber-facts with a few witty key taps and a carefully placed emoticon."
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Ive run various seta clamps and skewers - mostly unbranded and i dont see much difference between that and a set of xt skewers. Seems like going a bit far with it all.
  • ride_whenever
    Ignore splasher... It is all about embracing the shameless tart inside oneself.
  • Another big thumbs up for Salsa! :wink:

Along with my XT/XTR - they are the best I have ever used!
  • Splasher