Recommendations For A Touring Bike

Mafarka
Mafarka Posts: 4
edited January 2008 in Tour & expedition
Good afternoon all,

Put shortly, for a few years now a dream of mine has been to give up everything and go touring for a year or two and my new years resolution is to quit my job and do this. Unfortunately, whilst I know a bit I'm no cycling expert, and after conversations with friends and other cyclist it would appear that everything I thought I knew is wrong.

Whilst I will more than likely be buying the bike in shop, I am just here to see if people have any advice on what to look for in a touring bike? Or if indeed which brand of touring bike people recommend and how much people recommend spending/ what sort of kit I need etc.?

All help is welcome, I guess what I'm looking for more than anything is bicycle recommendations for tour riding.

Many thanks and all replies are appreciated

Comments

• clanton
    clanton Posts: 1,289
    There are at least two highly thought of UK companies that make touring bikes - Roberts and Thorn. Have a look at their websites too.
    Also read crazyguyonabike for inspiration!
  • Also read crazyguyonabike for inspiration!

Already way up on the inspiration - its the organisation I'm somewhat lacking!

Cheers for the sites, its my mothers birthday tonight so I'll have a proper read through them tomorrow morning and in all honesty probably be back here with more dumb questions pretty quickly! Many thanks so far :D
  • Toonraid
    Toonraid Posts: 126
    It really depends on how much you want to spend, how much you want to carry and your personal preferences on fit and riding position. Here is some questions that you need to answer;

Type of frame - steel (more durable & comfortable) or aluminium (lighter and cheaper)
    Type of handlebar - drops or str8 (same as hybrid/mtb)
    Load carrying capacity - rear panniers only or front and rear
    Type of lights - dynamo or battery type