best road pedal for a begginer

MRB2008
MRB2008 Posts: 2
edited January 2008 in Road beginners
HI,

I am a beginner--just bought my first road bike a month ago! That being said, I am new to everything bike-related.

I currently have LOOK pedals but I keep falling whenever i clip in and almost slipped many times just trying to walk on my shoes with LOOK cleats. Thinking about Speedplay pedals as something easier than LOOK for a newbie. Any thoughts?

I also have the women's Sidi genius road shoes--do you guys know if speedplay is compatible? I did not see it on my millenium 2 sole handout (only the carbon sole for sidi has the instructions for speedplay cleats installation). Thanks. :?:

Comments

• i use look keo pedals and their new keo grip cleats which have rubber pads to stop you slipping. still awkward to walk in but they're not designed for that! you can also buy rubber cleat covers from look.

see here:

http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/list_search.asp?Make=LOOK

you may want to try mountain bike pedals/shoes as the cleats are recessed to help with walking.

:D [/url]
  • I use speedplay pedals now after having used both look and time pedals over the years and i find them much much easier to clip into than either (important when cycling in traffic).Since they're double sided you don't have to try and hook the tip of the pedal with your cleat before engaging - you can more or less just put your foot on the pedal and in it clicks. They also offer a large amount of float so they're good for my knees but they are a bit awkard to walk in - though you can get cleat covers - and they're not cheap (especially the cleats) but i wouldn't use anything else now.
    pm
  • il_principe
    il_principe Posts: 9,155